Treasurer & Time

IMG_9402For the last two years, I have been the treasurer and timeline coordinator of E3 (education, event planning, experience) and it has been a challenging, developing, and continuous learning group experience! We not only lift each other up emotionally and professionally, but we will literally put each other on our shoulders to help out!

This organization is full of driven and passionate leaders who are striving to make a difference in the education field and their classrooms. By working to educate themselves and their peers now, they are better prepared for educating their future students. We are determined to make a difference firstly in the education community, secondly in the world around us through education.

Determination is a core principle of the group for how we approach our fundraising, planning, and execution. All funds for this organization go to supporting the growth of future educators by providing workshops, a conference, and networking meetings. This determination and coordination allowed us to raise over $900 for our RSO, compared to the $400 we raised last year. Not only did I organize the utilization of t-shirt fundraising, but we finally have had local fundraisers that support our group and the Mt. Pleasant community. As Treasurer for this organization, I have been blessed to see this group grow from nothing to a capable group that has successfully putting on two conferences and is making a difference in people’s lives.

This group has exposed me to new methods of problem-solving, networking, and event planning. Even though the many meetings, trips to the bank, and timeline reworking tested the limit my communication skills, I find myself sad to leave this amazing group and even more amazing individuals behind. They have provided me a foundation of understanding and professional development I wouldn’t have found anywhere else. Communicating with different fields and organizing timelines, fundraising, and marketing for them has expanded my professional understanding and development. This group of people taught me what it meant to go beyond the job and go beyond my own role and expectations.

This group of selfless leaders is one of the best opportunities I stumbled upon in my college experience.

 

Leave a comment