To the ones I can’t thank enough

15171209_10209188243797519_6630017956963769960_n
The Colvin Family (Christmas 2016), left to right: Brandon, Me, Michael, Marty, and Laurie.

My family; you are my center, my foundation, and my life.

Thank you for building me into the strong young women I am today. Thank you for teaching me to be humble, have grace, love, and be compassionate.

For all of the countless years you poured into me I can never repay you.

To my brothers, Brandon and Michael:

 Thank you for teaching me how to fight for what I want, whether it be the last brownie or you to feel safe at school. Thank you for loving me when I get testy, grumpy, or mad. You both have grown my patience in sometimes reluctant bounds. Whether you are making jokes or playing them; I still laugh, even if it’s only on the inside. I value the difference of interests and talents you have introduced me to and you excel at. Thank you for showing me that being school smart, isn’t the most value type of smart there is. Brandon, the youngest, the baby of the family; you’re going to be the tallest of us all. Plus, the things you can do with computers baffle me, and I usually do not understand what you are talking about when you start bragging about your latest tech savvy feat. Your ability to solve rubix cubes is something I will never master and it’s pretty awesome. Michael, the middle child, the troublemaker; you’re the person who grew my backbone. You were my partner in crime and playmate for most of our lives. Your mechanical ability is amazing; you built a functional go-kart from a lawn mower engine and a few random pieces. Even when things don’t go your way, you keep pushing on, I admire your grit. Thank you both for being you. I love you Boys.

To my mom, Laurie:

Thank you for being one I look to when I need to feel calm and being my comfort on days gone wrong. Thank you for being my first call when I need to talk. Thank you for being my everyday go-to. You tell me what I need to hear, I don’t always like to hear it, but you tell it to me straight nevertheless. Thank you for holding and teaching me to be accountable for my words and actions. You push me in little ways, everyday, to be better and take care of myself. You make me stronger, even when I feel down or have managed to injury myself, again. It’s because you tell me that I’m fine and need to get up, to not let life or myself hold me back; so I get up. I push forward with the determination and resilience you have shown throughout my whole life. Thank you for being the strongest person I know. No matter how hard or what hits you, you get up. You always put our family before yourself and I admire you for that. Thank you for giving me faith in God and bringing me up in a way that made me realize I would always be loved and belong somewhere. Thank you for giving me all I ever needed and so much more. Thank you for realizing what I need, before I even realize it myself. Thank you for furthering my life in everything you do. Thank you for being you. I love you Mom.

To my dad, Marty:

Thank you for always being the one to pick me up when I fell down; and for giving me safe shelter in your arms. I want to thank you for always loving me without limits, but most of all, I want to thank you for reminding me what matters most in life. Thank you for being my last call when I need someone the most. You are last not because I don’t think of you first, but because you are the person I turn to when I am truly lost and need direction. Often, I can overwhelm myself, but it is rare I feel desolated from myself. Dad, you are the one I look to help shine light and remind me. While, mom tells me what I need to hear, you are the one to soften the blow. You remind me to hold my head up high and push forward. I look at you and can remind myself: I can always improve. Thank you for putting our family above yourself, even while you continue to grow and learn. Thank you for teaching me that I have to stand up for myself because most others will not. Thank you for your kind words and wanting my continued success. Thank you for furthering my life in everything you do. Thank you for being you. I love you Dad.

Leave a Reply

