Leadership Theory Reflection

For my reflection I choose something I am very passionate about, Servant Leadership. This leadership theory is defined as a philosophy and set of practices that enriches the lives of individuals, builds better organizations and ultimately creates a more just and caring world. This ideal and these leaders are some of the most caring and effective in shared responsibility.

The key fundamental beliefs of servant leadership are:

1) The theory contradicts the idea of coercive leadership

2) A servant leader has a social responsibility to the “have-nots”

3) Serve first

4) Share control and influence granted to the leader

servant_leadership_model

The passion I feel for this model is due to the characteristic and the role its played in my life. I have had wonderful servant leaders help me and I strive to do the same for others. One of the most important ideas about being a servant leader is you have to have all ten characteristics.

Leave a Reply

